DSC_0054

 

It is incredible to realize that we are leaving in just 2 days to be with our kids for LIFE.  Every time I say it, write it, or think it, I am overwhelmed with a flurry of emotions and gratefulness.  We are so thrilled and yet still in disbelief that this journey wrought with waiting is coming to completion and that we get to start our new journey as a family. This waiting began for us over two and a half years ago when we signed the dotted line to begin our adoption.  But really it began in my heart over 17 years ago.  We serve an awesome God who is always in the business of teaching us, growing us, and using every moment…even the longest WAIT for a grand purpose.

This school year as I set out on a new adventure in junior high I shared my love of adoption and why I would be out for a bit with my students. I told them that I was their age when I knew I wanted to adopt for the first time.  This week, as I read their beginning of the year letters, one caught my eye and heart.  A young girl wrote of how she too heard about adoption recently and never though it was possible.  She wanted to do big things with her life but wasn’t sure she could do that or know that at her age, until we spoke in class.  I wept reading her letter.  I was her age when God first told me to adopt.  I was her age when I felt that same way.  It was one of those life in full circle moments.  God has used our waiting.  We have met people, shared stories, and deepened relationships that we never could have without it.

Throughout these past two and a half years we have been so grateful to the many friends and family members that have literally walked right beside us.  You have prayed with us, sat with us, cried with us, rejoiced with us, and made our story a  part fo your story and even your dinnertime conversations.  We are blessed to say the least.  Your prayers moved God’s heart and calmed ours on so many occasions.  Thank you seems so simple because if we could think of greater words we would be throwing them out daily to you.

We are so grateful for all that is ahead of us.  We know that the journey of parenthood will hold struggles, joy, excitement, and frustration…. but man are we ready to embrace all of it.  It is my prayer though that we never forget this waiting period.  That we hold close all it brought ot us and taught to us.

We love you friend and family.  From the deepest parts of our hearts’…THANK YOU!!!!

